SVCC logo

Stroud Valleys Canal Company




Canal User Pages


Brimscombe Port


Contacts


SVCC Policies


Home


Link to November 2012 Development Brochure

 

Brimscombe Port from mill



Opened in the early 1780s, Brimscombe Port was once the thriving hub of the Thames & Servern Canal Company.

The canal here was closed in 1933 and the port filled in after the Second World War. The T&S Canal Headquarters building was used as a Polytechnic for many years but this iconic building was demolished on 1965 and an industrial estate established on the site. The office part of the current building is now being used as offices, meeting rooms and even volunteer accommodation to support the canal restoration project.

With the canal under active restoration, the time will soon come to redevelop the whole Port area to create a vibrant mixed use water fronting site.


| Canal User Information Brimscombe Port  | Contacts Useful Links |


This document maintained by ken.burgin@pikelock.com
Material Copyright 2012 Stroud Valleys Canal Company